The Countess of Wessex’s DofE Diamond Challenge

The Countess of Wessex is cycling from the Palace of Holyroodhouse to Buckingham Palace on behalf of The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award in its 60th year. The Countess, who is a long term supporter of the DofE, is cycling the 445 miles from Edinburgh to London over seven days from 19-25 September.

Her Royal Highness is undertaking the ride as her ‘DofE Diamond Challenge’ – a special initiative marking the 60th anniversary of the DofE’s founding by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh. People of any age are asked to take on a DofE inspired challenge and try something new while raising money for, and awareness of, The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award.

The Countess of Wessex said, “I am both excited and apprehensive to be undertaking this challenge on behalf of The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Diamond Anniversary Appeal! I have seen for myself the incredible impact the DofE has on every young life it touches, equipping young people with self-belief and motivation whatever their background or ability. So I had no hesitation in taking on a Diamond Challenge and hope this will encourage others to try their own.”

“I want to thank everyone who has supported us so far. It means so much to all the team and everyone at The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award and is certainly my inspiration when I am struggling up another one of those hills!” The Countess of Wessex

The Countess will cycle the route accompanied by a small team of servicemen and women from four of HRH’s military affiliations; RAF Wittering; 5th Battalion The Rifles; Queen Alexandra’s Royal Army Nursing Corps; and Corps of Army Music.

Check out her blog here:

To sponsor The Countess please visit


Notes to Editors

The Countess of Wessex is The Royal Colonel of 5th Battalion The Rifles; Honorary Air Commodore of RAF Wittering; and Colonel in Chief of both Queen Alexandra’s Royal Army Nursing Corps and the Corps of Army Music.

In order to view our website, you need to upgrade your browser. Please consider the following options.

Google Chrome

Mozilla Firefox

Internet Explorer